Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Review Of: A Court Of Thorns and Roses

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Magnificent. That word sums up my feelings about Sarah J.Maas' latest series.  I tried to get into Throne of Glass but failed, I'm now reconsidering my rash decision on it, in fact I may go out tomorrow and buy the whole damn series.

I'm not the best at reading books about faeries but goodness there are some yummy fae in this book, which btw I'm totally team Tamlin.  I have a feeling that ship will be put to the test in the next book.  I found Feyra to be a solid character who shows growth and potential. Although, I believe I may have reasons to want to throttle her in the next book but she could surprise me.  Also, talk about steamy scenes! There are a few moments between Tamlin and Feyra that are cause for a cold shower, I loved it!  Along with a mysterious anti hero who left me thinking of switching to the dark side. (Sorry Tam! I still love you!)

A Court Of Thorns and Roses starts off slow.  I'm not going to lie, I put it down several times in the first few chapters but once we had a firm grasp on how things work in this magical world the pace starts to pick up.  Towards the end of the book I started to grow concerned that certain events would be stretched out causing the timing to slow way down but turns out I had no reason to worry. Also, there was no pesky cliff hanger.  Readers are left knowing that there is more to come but without the feeling of holding your breath until the next book appears.

I'm pretty excited about this new series. It's an excellent example of how amazing the New Adult genre can be.  It still contains the feel of a YA fantasy but mixes it with some steamy writing targeted for the older audience.  As long as it doesn't turn into a horrible love triangle mess, I see it being amazing.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Let's Discuss. Leave Your Opinions Here.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...